Review: ASUS Transformer Book T100

At the end of November, I bought my wife an ASUS Transformer T100 and she loves it. I’ve also used it occasionally (okay so I actually meant A LOT) and I wanted to write up a quick review.

The Good

The touch screen is responsive and the machine hasn’t shown any performance issues in web browsing, Microsoft Office, or video consumption. The battery has lasted for at least 8 hours consistently. Also, having a full version of Word, Excel, and PowerPoint included with the machine is a godsend.

The Tolerable

The touchpad on the keyboard dock could be made a bit better. The touchpad buttons are a bit hard to click but if you only left-click on the touchpad you’ll never notice. My wife hasn’t noticed but I’ve noticed because of how much I right-click (ex., right click open in new browser tab). I’ve learned to just use the touchscreen for these types of operations on the T100.

The Bad

The one real downside of this machine is charging it. Charging over USB takes forever and can be hindered by the keyboard dock. To get a good charge, you have to undock from the keyboard and leave it charging overnight. We can deal with charging overnight but I wish ASUS would have used a technology that charges much faster. If you kill the battery early in the day, you’ll be waiting a few hours to be able to use the T100 without it being plugged in.

Conclusion

This machine does exactly what we wanted it to do. It’s an excellent 2 in 1 convertible and it is definitely worth the price. I would recommend it for anyone that isn’t a power user or has another primary computer.

Power users will want something that can run more power hungry programs without having to remote. I have used the T100 with remote desktop for programs like Photoshop, Visual Studio, and Adobe Premiere Elements but latency was a bit too much to make it a realistic work scenario.

Update July 26, 2014

I finally decided to buy a new charger for the tablet and it has made a world of difference. We no longer have any issues with charging!

2 thoughts on “Review: ASUS Transformer Book T100

  1. Melanie September 11, 2014 / 9:06 am

    Hello thanks for your review.but how did you use Remote Desktop?

    Best regards
    Melli

    • Jeremy September 11, 2014 / 12:28 pm

      On that machine, I use the Windows 8 App Store version of Remote Desktop to remote into my Windows 8 Pro desktop on my home network. If you’re trying to remote into a computer from outside of your home, it’ll be a little more complicated because setting up your router comes into play. You have to consider the security aspect of opening that hole in your network in that scenario. Let me know if you want more information on this. I can actually turn this into an entire blog post if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

